Lock Grading – Ansi Lock Grades

ANSI, which stands for ‘American National Standards Institute’ has regulated a three-tiered grading system for locks, providing a standardized method to measure their durability and strength. The grade of a lock indicates an indication of its quality.


What Does Lock Grade #3 Mean?

Locks with a grade 3 classification offer the most basic level of security and are not recommended for use where high-security is needed. These are the most commonly found locks in residential properties and are the most affordable option. If your home is fitted with grade 3 locks, it is advisable to think over upgrading to grade level 2 or consult with a locksmith to install pins that can not be bumped, or picked, to enhance your lock’s security. Grade 3 locks should be capable of withstanding 200,000 cycles, two door strikes, and about 150 pound weighing test. Grade 3 deadbolts should be able to endure 100,000 cycles and a 2-door-strike hammer test.

What Does Lock Grade #2 Mean?

Locks of grade 2 offer an intermediate level of security. While they may not meet the needs of some commercial buildings, they exceed the standards for residential properties. Grade 2 door knobs should withstand 400,000 lock cycles, about 250 pound weighing test, and 4 door strikes. On the other hand, grade 2 deadbolts should endure 150,000 cycles and 5 door strikes hammer test.

What Does Lock Grade #1 Mean?

Grade 1 represent the highest level of security. Typically associated with commercial security, we’re seeing a growing number of grade 1 locks aimed at residential use, especially among electronic lock options. However, style and finish choices may be limited, and often they might be are more costly. Grade 1 knobs should withstand 900,000 cycles, 6 strikes, and a 360- pound weighing test. Meanwhile, grade 1 deadbolts should endure 300,000 cycles and at least 10 door strike hammer test.

Residential vs. Commercial Lock Grades

Despite the ANSI system applying equally to both commercial and residential locks, there’s a consensus that commercial-grade locks are of higher quality. They are weightier, devoid of plastic material parts, and generally more durable. Comparisons can be made between a residential grade 2 deadbolt and its commercial counterpart to highlight these differences.

It is a great idea to get a professional locksmith advice about which lock grade would be the best one for your needs. They are always willing to provide guidance and information. Additionally, it’s important to have a certified locksmith to install and maintain all your locks issues. Doing so will help to ensure that your property is safe and secure.

Investing in quality lock systems such as installing anti-bump, and anti-pick pins, will definitely upgrade your home level of security, and will give you the peace of mind that you are looking for.

Leave a Reply